Quack and the birth of Big Brother

…What was slightly horrible, was that from the stream of sound that poured out of his mouth it was almost impossible to distinguish a single word. Just once Winston caught a phrase —‘complete and final elimination of Goldsteinism’— jerked out very rapidly and, as it seemed, all in one piece, like a line of type cast solid. For the rest it was just a noise, a quack-quack-quacking. And yet, though you could not actually hear what the man was saying, you could not be in any doubt about its general nature. He might be denouncing Goldstein and demanding sterner measures against thought-criminals and saboteurs, he might be fulminating against the atrocities of the Eurasian army, he might be praising Big Brother or the heroes on the Malabar front — it made no difference. Whatever it was, you could be certain that every word of it was pure orthodoxy, pure Ingsoc. As he watched the eyeless face with the jaw moving rapidly up and down, Winston had a curious feeling that this was not a real human being but some kind of dummy. It was not the man’s brain that was speaking, it was his larynx. The stuff that was coming out of him consisted of words, but it was not speech in the true sense: it was a noise uttered in unconsciousness, like the quacking of a duck.

– George Orwell 1984 

First of all I’d like to say that I do not in the least feel like doing this. At all. I want to be reading the awesome stories from this cool chick, or anything from the many awesome ppl in my Reader. I actually don’t have time for reading let alone this. But I do what I gotta do so my brain shuts the fk up sometimes. 

I haven’t read 1984 btw. Not entirely….this post stems from a rather deep convo with The Hub a min ago. We’re cool like that. But I haven’t thought about this shit in years for a reason and that reason is mothafkn stress. Our convo started when he found a website with a partial quote from the excerpt above. I googled it (instinctively knowing it wasn’t quite right I guess) and found Chapter 5 in which they discuss duckspeak among many things…

…did you read this in school? I mean the book 1984..? I took so many lit classes they made me stop. I have more than enough lit credits for my major and i woulda paid outta pocket for more if I could have. But I got a lot. This story was never an assignment though…not in any lit class (Omg my Literary Interpretation class at the very least!) social science, political science…took em all. But nope. No Orwell. Having read only the one chapter, I feel like it was intentionally sidestepped in education. 

Look I don’t do conspiracy stuff, ok. I know me and me can’t handle it…anxiety like a boss! But a bad one…a mean one. So I don’t fk with this stuff. Maybe The Powers that Be are up to all kinds of nefarious shit. In fact I’m sure they are! I used to be an activist…but then I had kids and the world was starting to get scary…or I was just starting to notice…but either way, I broke it off. No more news, social media, I ignored anyone who tried to talk to me about the world. But for some reason today, as I’m on a roll in my “mission” (tell ya later), I’m being pushed to do this. So maybe it’s for You. Hope I do it right…

Anyway I posted such a long quote from the story so you’d have a little context and the linkage for that chapter is above. I was able to send it directly to iBooks (I’m a mobile user exclusively) and I kinda can’t stop reading it. Which is weird bc 1. I don’t read (unless it’s short like a blog post lol) 2. Never have I started a book anywhere but word one. Bc duh. This one, I did. At first for research (fact checking is a thing), but now bc it’s just so fkn relevant. 3. As I said I don’t like knowing stuff and this story, while easy to read, is stuff. Fml. I’m a good soldier tho so moving on…

This story was written in 1949. 1984 would have only been about 35 years in the future. I didn’t have the time to read his Wiki in its entirety, but I’m thinking he really thought we were headed this way. I guess I also need to read Animal Farm fk…it’s good don’t get me wrong. Good like Hunger Games which I also can’t watch (tho desperately want to) bc again it just hits too close to home. 

Is it me or does that quacking sound familiar…?


Also…


…I’m sorry but did we not just literally have this convo? The best of it is in the comments lol, post itself is shit to be honest just ranting. But you guys are smart. Read the comments 😉. 

But my point is….this is kinda happening. It makes me ever so sad. 


Is this making sense all broken up like that? I’m sorry…tis a deep and difficult thing to discuss and I suck at words. But…you know you’ve had that same thought. The one I underlined in above screenshot.” Are people really that dumb?” You mean to tell me Sheeple are really real?! Well..where’s my unicorn? 

But you know they are. I am in a way I guess bc I refuse to engage. I feel that part of me…god you can find her rants in the archives. I don’t recommend it, they’re fun as far as ranting goes I was quite good lol. But I don’t believe in any of those things  I was so passionate about ten years ago. In this story I’d just be a prole, a blue collar worker. Common. I’d accept Big Brother (did Orwell invent that?!) as a thing I cannot change so I’d do what I was told so I didn’t get “vaporized” or hung. They talk about “thought criminals” being hung…thought criminals?! Dude idk but that…spooks the fk outta me. Idk how it could be done but if it’s possible I wouldn’t put it past em. “Em” being our leaders..our leaders being not just Trump (lol ffs) but the world. Story takes place in the U.K. If I’m not mistaken…he refers to it as Oceania. 

From the sound of it, Big Brother has taken the World at this time. I need to finish that wiki I guess…but it does say Orwell was extremely politically incorrect lol..basically. I like that. So in my opinion he’s maybe some kinda Nostradamus! Hah…hopefully not. 

But c’mon…kinda looks like it right? Is it me?


They’re destroying words. Why…? 

Because mind control…media is entirely BB’s (their slang for Big Brother) thing at this point. Syme, the speaker is employed by the government (everyone is really) to write a new dictionary. The point of which is to further and fully control the minds and thoughts of the human race. Lol hmm…we may have had this talk kinda yep. 

Unconsciousness. Da fk…? but I know I’ve certainly complained about the lack of thought going around. Bet you have too huh. Yep. 
  

I haven’t read it, but I almost think this is a real life humans equal to his Animal Farm…gov as we know it is gone, over thrown and BB is all powerful. The irony is that they have this Revolution to destroy tyranny! But now we’re cheering in the streets bc of 20 grams of chocolate and a bunch of double speak and worshiping a new Tyrant. 

It’s not unreasonable. Sounds like something we would do. 

Fighter in me says fk that. I do not like being controlled. If thought control is what they want and they seem too big to fight, then fight for your mind. And tell your friends. 

And read that damn story I know I butchered it   Apologies. Im trying to help….

In other news, my house is cleanish (mission) and the neighbors are weird. Someone’s gotten a new rooster. Again. 

Ugh I don’t do long posts like this one and the last few I’m sorry. If you made it all the way well high fives and a big thx to you sir and or madam! 

Idk why I felt the need to do this but I did and so here it is. And I know Orwell had a thing for getting people riled up, right. Isn’t he War of the Worlds guy? My memory is the worst and too tired now to research further. It’s chill time for me. 

But…to all you “unorthodox” people (myself included) let it roll around in your head a min. I kinda think that, satire at the time or not, that this is kinda happening. Not just the literally thing either. There’s been so much news lately I cant hide from it. 

And the fighter (Bella?) says we shall not conform. Which means being more aware I think, unfortunately. Oh and yes, I split my Self into pieces like “the fighter” and Lulu and now Bell. HellsfknBells. It helps me. Sorry it’s weird. 

I’m done. Hope this makes sense. 

Xoxo 

*artwork is my own. 

3 thoughts on “Quack and the birth of Big Brother

  1. Omg I’m a cool chick! It’s on the internet so it must be true! Lol I clicked on it and was like “Ah! It’s meeee!” 😂 Also just wanted to comment yes Big Brother was coined by Orwell 🙂 I read that for a class in High School… so long ago… might have to reread it soon…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg really?! Well not in my school lol I so wish they had…yeah dude reread it lol. It goes down smooth despite the heavy feeling…
      I kinda like this Orwell guy. And yes you ARE a cool chick hahaha it’s funny that I linked you without naming you tho I’m sorry…I just do stuff. Shoot now think later? lol yes the internets have confirmed you I should make a badge 😜

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

